In 1835 a ship sailed out of Limerick Docks with a cargo of emigrants bound for the New World. It never came back…

The Unlucky Cabin Boy is a new play by Mike Finn with songs by Limerick band The Brad Pitt Light Orchestra. It tells the true story of the wreck of the Francis Spaight and the terrible acts of desperation that took place on board. Produced by award-winning theatre company Gúna Nua and directed by Limerickman Paul Meade, The Unlucky Cabin Boy was a highlight of Limerick City of Culture 2014. This chilling tale of hardship, sacrifice and survival is brought to life by music and song and told with Gúna Nua’s trademark humour and theatricality.

Tour Dates:

Lime Tree, Limerick:  4th, 5th, 6th, 7th  November

Black Box, Galway:  10th November

Civic Theatre Tallaght, County Dublin :  13th, 14th November

Theatre Royal, Waterford:  16th November

Watergate, Kilkenny:  17th November

Draiocht, Dublin: 20th, 21st November

Siamsa Tire, Tralee:  25th November

Pavillion Dun Laoghaire, Dublin: 27th, 28th November

CREDITS: Book written by Mike Finn; Music and Lyrics written by David Blake; Directed by Paul Meade; Music performed by The Brad Pitt Light Orchestra; Set Design by Colm McNally; Costume Design by Barbara McCarthy; Sound Design by John Galvin; Musical Direction by Cathal Synott; Movement Direction by Angie Smallis; Fight Direction by Donal O’Farrell; Produced by Donal Shiels; CAST: Ann Blake, David Blake, James Blake, Damien Devaney, Peter Joyce, Enda Kilroy, Jamie O’Neill, Kevin Shackleton, Susannah De Wrixon; Featuring The Laurel Hill School Choir; Choir Directed by Orla Colgan

A Million Thanks To Our FundIt Donors!

We at Guna Nua would like to massively thank the donors that made our FundIt campaign a triumph! Without you, The Unlucky Cabin Boy would not have have been the success it was!

ABLE BODY MATES – Nathalie Clement, Alan Ambrose, Lorna Quinn, Pauline Shanahan, Karen O’Donnell O’Connor, Michael Barrett, Carmel Meade, Gary Duggan, Aoife Spillane Hinks, Hanneke de Vos, Susannah de Wrixon, J Gerard O’Donovan

FIRST MATES – Emmet Jackson, Dorothy Cotter, Tara Furlong, Deirdre Parkes, Eoin Meade, Fiona Linnane, Gerard Meade, Fergal Rock, Maria Donoghue, Thomas Conway, Gavin O’Donoghue, Rachel Yoder, Niamh Vaughan, Nola Giltinan, Diarmuid McIntyre, Sylvie Mci, Simon Coury, Leonard Kelly, Mairead Devlin

ABLE SEAMEN – Ryan Meade, Aisling Meade, Cillian O Gairbhi, Maire Ui Ghairbhi, Joshua Wrigley, Eugene McGrath, Bob Duffy, Cormac Gahan, Carolina Janer, Karl Wallis

MASTER MARINERS – Eadaoin Glynn, Liam Meade, Noirin Meade, Carmel Gunn, Eileen Sheridan, Alan Wrigley, John Breen, Oonagh Sweeny, Clare Meade, Ursula and Barney Callaghan, Donal Shiels, Myles Breen